+44 (0)1428 653727 sales@johnnicholsons.com

VALUATION AND CONSIGNMENT DAYS WITH TV’s DAVID FORD

We will be holding a couple of valuation and consignment days in May and June – make sure you get those dates in your diary! Please do come along with anything to value or consign for one of our future auctions. David Ford will be joining the June date.

If you would like one of our specialists to come out and visit you at home on any of these dates, to value items or take in for consigning, please do book an appointment via our office on 01428 653727. These appointments will take place between 2-5pm on the dates below.

Friday 25th May – 8:30am-1:30pm
Tuesday 5th June (with David Ford) – 9:00am-2:00pm

To be held in the Long Kiln Room, Farnham Maltings, Farnham

GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation)

John Nicholson’s are currently compiling their policy document for GDPR, which comes into effect on 25 May. Please bear with us.

Please note that with immediate effect, if you receive newsletters from us via mailchimp, you will be given the option to opt in to receiving anything further.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us on 01428 653727 or sales@johnnicholsons.com.

 

 

Rare suite of jewellery by designer to the Royals for sale at John Nicholson’s on May 17

He designed jewellery for Princess Margaret, the Queen Mother and other Royals, his work can be found in the V&A, and he is feted as a pioneer craftsman who helped revolutionise jewellery design in the 1960s and 70s.

Now this suite of jewellery by John Donald will appear in the Fine Antiques auction at John Nicholson’s in Fernhurst on May 17.

The 18ct gold and diamond necklace, bracelet, earrings and dress ring are fine examples of the sort of striking new abstract designs that Donald created as he explored unusual forms and textures, freeing jewellery design from the fairly narrow strictures it had previously been limited to.

A friend and flatmate of the silversmiths Robert Welch and Gerald Benney, while studying metalwork at the Royal College of Art in the 1950s, Donald went on to establish and run a highly successful jewellery business in Geneva and London, inspired by his travels in the Middle East.

“This a rare opportunity to acquire such a parure, and we are delighted to be associated with such a fine designer, especially as he still lives locally, close to his roots,” said auctioneer John Nicholson.

The estimate is £5000-8000.

JOHN NICHOLSON’S ARE HIRING!

PORTERS REQUIRED

Please Note: Job Involves Heavy Lifting

We are looking for applicants with a mature, can-do attitude. Experience not essential as training will be given while you work. Need to be available for weekday and weekend work.

For further details contact Alex Chalcraft T: 01428 653727 or sales@johnnicholsons.com

 

AUCTIONS IN 2018

March

General – Saturday 10 March
Oriental – Wednesday 21 March
Fine Antique – Thursday 22 March
Fine Paintings – Wednesday 28 March

April

General Auction – Saturday 7 April
Oriental & Indian collection – Wednesday 18 April
Fine Antique – Thursday 19 April
Fine Paintings – Wednesday 25 April

May

General – Saturday 5 May
Oriental – Wednesday 16 May
Fine Antique – Thursday 17 May
Fine Paintings – Wednesday 23 May

June

General – Saturday 2 June
Oriental – Wednesday 13 June
Fine Antique – Thursday 14 June
Fine Paintings – Wednesday 20 June